Keeping it simple

I love this time of year, with the cooler weather and the leaves changing to amazing colors (at least here in Virginia they are) and we have been enjoying the festivities that fall has to offer. A few weeks ago we took a trip to a corn maze, last weekend we went to an apple orchard to pick apples (I plan to make apple pies and attempt crock pot apple butter, yum), and hopefully this weekend we will be able to go to a farmer’s market and pick out a pumpkin! Yay!! And it is about time I bring some of the wonders of fall inside. I have been slacking with decorating for fall this year, so this week I am getting on that, using what we have and keeping it simple. I pulled out all our fall decorations to see what I had to work with, along with a few other items I though I could incorporate.

I purchased a few new items this year: a flux pumpkin (for 50% off at Michael’s), a lantern (for $2.50 from Target) and a glass pumpkin container (for $4 from Goodwill).

I also pulled out two owls that Ricky got for me from West Elm (on clearance). They came in a few weeks ago, just in time for fall decorating. Aren’t they the cutest?!?

After seeing what I had, I began placing everything to see what looked best and this is what I ended up with:

I liked the way everything turned out. Maybe over time we will add more (by making or purchasing items), but this year we just wanted to keep it simple. What about you? Are you enjoying the wonders of fall by decorating and taking in the festivities? We would love to hear about it. Leave a comment or a photo.

Leave a Reply

