They Don’t Know Me, But They’re Why I’m Here

Ok, so some how I miscalculated and managed to miss posting this on the actually anniversary (oops), but September 6th marked the one year anniversary for this little blog. Wow, one year. It’s hard to believe. Looking back over the past year got me thinking. Why did we start this blog? What inspired us to take on writing about our home?
 
The idea started after reading the blog Young House Love. If you haven’t checked them out, you should. They are inspiring, creative, real, and fun. John and Sherry, with their daughter, Clara, and Chihuahua, Burger, started their blog in 2007 to document progress on their first home. Over time, it has turned into a full time gig for both of them. 

But that’s not what inspired me. Ricky sent me this post, featured on Lifehacker. I read the post and enjoyed it, but didn’t think much more about it. At the time, I had no idea what a blog was or how it worked. Then, a few months later, I stumbled across the email again and began reading John and Sherry’s blog more consistently. I eventually read EVERY. SINGLE. POST. I was hooked. I was constantly telling Ricky about their projects and ideas. He reads it too but didn’t read through the archives like I did. He’d share what they were currently working on I’d share there previous projects.  Taking about John and Sherry become part of the norm for us. (We are secretly BFF’s, they just don’t know it!) Their first two homes were older, ranch-style home (just like ours) that were in need of some love (just like ours) and over time it sparked the idea that I too could write a blog to document the progress of our home!
 
Another bloger that has greatly inspired me is The Nester (AKA Nesting Place). Her tag line, “It doesn’t have to be perfect to be beautiful”, has helped me not to stress over perfection. Well, I haven’t gotten COMPLETELY stress-free yet, but I’m working on it. But isn’t that life changing!? She has inspired me to not stress about the little things, to make our home work for us, and to let it be loved and lived in. Check her out, she will inspire!
 
And even though this is just a little online diary for us (that anyone can read), the idea and the inspiration came from these awesome bloggers. And if you happen to see this: Thanks guys! Maybe one day we’ll meet in person (fingers crossed).
 
I don’t know what the future will hold for Tastefully Furr-nished, but we’re enjoying writing it. I don’t expect it to become a full time gig. It’s just a place to document as we make this house our home and for you to follow along as we do. Thanks everyone for reading and here’s to many more years to come. Happy 1st anniversary Tastefully Furr-nished!
 
Check out our Blogs We Love tab for these and other inspiring bloggers.

One thought on “They Don’t Know Me, But They’re Why I’m Here

  1. I love the fact that I can connect with the two of you through this blog. I miss you so much and who the two of you are and who you are to me. Love you to the moon and back.

    Comment

    Robin L. Fraser, Independent Product Consultant doTerra Essential Oils and Wellness Products robinoes@aol.com 719-641-7892 website – http://www.mydoterra.com/robinfraser

    Impossible is not a word…it is just a reason not to try.

Leave a Reply

